current affairsCurrent Affairs-February,2019

Infosys announced the Aarohan Social Innovation Awards 2018-19

Infosys announced the Aarohan Social Innovation Awards 2018-19 across six award categories: Healthcare, Rural Development, Destitute Care, Women’s Safety & Empowerment, Education & Sports and Sustainability. Aarohan social Innovation Awards are established with the intention to recognize those who contribute to the social well being and bring a positive a impact in the society.

Aarohan Social Innovation Awards 2018-19 winners (Platinum)

Platinum Award Prize money: 30 Lakhs


Khushwant Rai and Anjali Khurana from Punjab


Created an affordable personal braille printer


Prashant Gade from Madhya Pradesh


Created a low-cost myo-electric prosthetic arm called ‘Inali Arm’


Aarohan Social Innovation Awards 2018-19 (Gold):

Gold Award Winner Prize money : 20 lakhs


Mayur Ramrao Ladole, Gaurav Ghanshyam Dastane and Nilesh Lakshman Jadhav from Maharashtra


For a novel water-disinfecting hand pump

Women’s Safety & Empowerment: Samagra Empowerment Foundation from Maharashtra


For the ‘SmartLoo’ platform

Silver Award Winners, each team receiving prize money of INR 15 lakhs

  • Destitute Care: Sumanth Mudaliar and Vishrut Gaurangkumar Bhatt from Gujarat, for ‘Handicare’, a mobility device for the specially-abled
  • Healthcare: Aakash Bhadana, Vasu Kaushik and Rahul Gupta from Haryana for ‘Caeli’, a smart automated drug delivery and anti-pollution mask for respiratory patients

Bronze Award Winners, each team receiving prize money of INR 10 lakhs

  • Rural Development: Sharwan Kumar Bajya from Rajasthan, for ‘Wider’, an affordable weed removal machine that processes weed into green manure
  • Education: Sanskriti Dawle from Karnataka, for developing ‘Annie’, an audio tactile device to address low braille literacy in India

Jury Special Mentions, each team receiving prize money of INR 5 lakhs

  • Sustainability: Saathi Pads from Gujarat, for making 100 percent biodegradable and compostable sanitary pads from banana fiber
  • Education: Chirag Bhandari, Siddharth Gala and Kavya Ananth from Maharashtra, for ‘Yelo Bag’, a school bag designed to convert into a writing desk
  • Rural Development: Karibasappa MG, Dayananda K and Anil Kumar MK, from Karnataka, for developing a solar insect trap that reduces the usage of chemical pesticides in agriculture
  • Women Safety and Empowerment: Ajinkya Vikas Dhariya from Maharashtra, for developing ‘PadCare’, a decentralized sanitary pad sterilization, segregation and disposal unit




Related Articles

Leave a Reply